Within a Session during a live event

  • Updated

Attendees can access open and live sessions listed in the Sessions event area through the left side panel or by clicking on the live scheduled segment in the agenda.

Within a Session, the attendee experience may vary based on its configuration. Attendees will be able to passively watch the presentation or actively participate by joining the screen.

Watching a Session

Watching is simple; just join any Session and watch the Speakers talk or engage in a dedicated Session chat on the right-side panel.

Closed Captions

If you would like to use Closed Captions within the Session, simply click the "CC" button at the bottom of the screen and the captions will appear underneath the video feeds. Captions are only available on Desktop versions of RingCentral and will only work in English.

For more information, check out our article about Using Closed Captions (Sessions, Expo Booths, Networking).

Chat

Each session has its own group chat, separate from the event-wide chat. As a viewer, you can interact with the people who are in the session via chat using the Session chat. This is a great place to ask questions and engage with people on-camera when you don’t want to be on-camera yourself.

Check out this article on how to use the chat feature!

Full screen mode

To fully engage with a presentation within a Session room and optimize the content displayed on the screen, you can activate the full-screen mode. This mode allows you to expand the view to occupy the entire screen, and you have the option to enable full screen for the entire presentation or for individual speakers or screen shares separately.

Here you can learn more about how it works: How to enable full-screen mode in Sessions

Participating

Clicking Share audio and Video or Ask to Share Audio and Video means you want to participate on live video — people will be able to see and hear you in the session.

At the top of a session, you’ll notice the number of people speaking/max number allowed and the number of people watching the Session.

Speaker controls

Once you are on screen, you will have the following Speaker controls at the bottom centre of the Session:

  • Sound. You can mute and unmute the whole stage if needed.
  • Closed Captions. Turn closed captions on and off. Here you can learn more about it: Using Closed Captions (Sessions, Expo Booths, Networking)
  • Microphone. Toggles your microphone on and off.
  • Camera. Toggles your webcam on and off.
  • Screen share. Opens a screen-share menu.
  • Settings. Opens the hardware selection menu for you to choose the camera and microphone for this Session.
  • Emoji reactions. Select an emoji to place on your video tile for a couple of seconds to express your sentiment during the presentation. 
  • Raise hand. Raise your hand to indicate your desire to ask a question or contribute a point. 
  • Fullscreen. Make the entire Session fullscreen. Here you can learn more about it: How to enable full-screen mode in Sessions

Last but not least, you can click on Stop sharing Audio and Video at the top right corner to leave the screen at any time.

Pin a speaker

Attendees are able to pin a speaker to their screen by clicking the three dots by the speaker's video card, and then pin. This is especially useful when a speaker is sharing their screen and you want to make either the screen share bigger on the screen or the speaker. 

To unpin the speaker, repeat the process. 

Sharing a screen

It's possible to share a browser tab, a window or an entire screen. If you need to share your presentation with audio, it's important to note that this option is available for sharing Chrome tabs only.

  • Click the Screen sharing icon at the bottom of the page
  • Switch to Chrome Tab on the popup window and choose the required browser tab
  • Check the also share audio box
  • Click Share to start sharing

Note: Sharing a Google Slides presentation or playing a video in a browser tab with sound can be supported on the latest version of Google Chrome browser.Firefox browser doesn’t support sharing a tab with Sound yet. Here you can learn more about how to share audio from another app: Screenshare: Sharing audio from any third-party app

Breakout rooms

Organizers may choose to split larger Sessions into smaller groups as a way to facilitate discussions, create brainstorming sessions, and encourage larger networking. In this case, you will be automatically placed in one of the groups together with other participants. You can refer to our guide How to navigate Breakout Rooms in Sessions to learn more.

Confetti

Confetti is an engagement feature that enables attendees participating on screen to express appreciation by sending confetti. If this option is enabled within the Session you can trigger this effect by clicking on the video tile or screen share during the session, providing a fun way to acknowledge a speaker or highlight presented data on the slides.

Emoji Reactions

When the Emoji reactions option is enabled within the Session, participants on screen can place an emoji in their video tile to communicate their sentiments without causing interruptions during the meeting. For example, you may choose a thumbs-up reaction to signal to the presenter and the audience that you approve.

Click on in the Emoji icon in the Speaker Controls at the bottom center of the screen and select one of the available emojis. The emoji will be placed on your video tile for a couple of seconds and disappear automatically.  

Raise Hand

When enabled, the Raise Hand feature allows participants in a Session to signal their intention to ask a question or contribute to the discussion without interrupting the flow of conversation. 

In the Speaker controls, click Raise hand. The hand icon will be placed on your video tile to notify other speakers. After speaking or once your question has been addressed, click on the same option to lower your hand. 

As a speaker, how do I leave a panel without leaving a Session?

Since the limit of participants on screen (with audio and video) is 50 (or less if specified in the settings), it is good practice to free up a spot when someone has finished participating in a live panel. To do so simply click the Stop sharing Audio and Video at the top right of a session's screen, this way the spot will be released for someone else to join while still being able to watch the session.

Note: Turning audio/video off does not release one of the 50 spots. For moderated sessions, the moderator can free up spots by removing participants using the moderator tool at the bottom left of a session's screen.