As an Attendee, you may find yourself in a Breakout Room when joining a Session. Organizers may choose to split larger Sessions into smaller groups as a way to facilitate discussions, create brainstorming sessions, and encourage larger networking.
If you are an Organizer, you should check out our article How to manage Breakout Rooms in Sessions.
Joining a Breakout Room
When you join a Session, you will first find yourself in the main Session. Whenever the Organizer or Moderator is ready, they will create the Breakout Rooms and you will see a countdown for 10 seconds notifying you that you will be sent to a Breakout Room. If you would like to join the room sooner, click Join Breakout.
Within a Breakout Room
Once you have been assigned to a Breakout Room, you will need to click Share audio and video once to join the screen. In the People tab in the right-side activity panel, you can see the people who have been assigned to the same room.
Using the chat
There is an additional tab on the right hand side for Breakout where you can chat privately with the other people within the room. However, you can still access the Event chat as well as the main Session chat to communicate with other attendees within the Session or wider Event, as well as with the Organizer/Moderator of the Session.
Leaving a Breakout Room
At the top of the screen you will see a timer. This shows you how much time you have left in the Breakout Room before you will be sent back to the main Session.
When there are 10 seconds remaining a countdown will appear. You will see a similar pop-up if the Moderator recalls the Breakout rooms before the time is up.
You can also choose to leave a Breakout Room at any time by clicking Return to Main Session in the corner.
When you have re-joined the main Session you will need to Share your Audio and Video again by clicking the blue button that says Share Audio and Video.
Here, you will have the option to return to your Breakout Session by clicking Join breakout room in the banner at the top.
If you would like to use Closed Captions within the Breakout Room, simply click the "CC" button at the bottom of the screen and the captions will appear underneath the video feeds.
For more information, check out our article about Closed Captions within Sessions.