Removing, blocking and refunding registrants

  • Updated

organizers.jpg

Organizers have various controls over existing registrations. This guide explains how to refund, block or remove a registrant from your event. 

Refunding a registrant

Important notes:

  • Refunded registrants stay registered for the event and are able to attend it.
  • A refunded registrant will not count as a used registration in the Billing tab (applies to the legacy plans only).
  • Refunding a registrant will refund the price they paid for the ticket (if the promo code is applied, it will differ from the original ticket price).
  • Stripe and RingCentral Events fees charged on top of every ticket sale are not refundable. When issuing a full refund, the entire amount the attendee paid gets refunded, resulting in the Organizer incurring some losses. To learn more about the fees, refer to our guide on Stripe Direct Billing.
  • Once a refund has been issued, it takes 5-10 days for the attendee to see the credit in their bank account.

It is possible to issue a refund both from the Event Dashboard and from Stripe Dashboard.

  • To issue a refund in the Event Dashboard:

    1. Go to Event Dashboard > People > Registrants
    2. Find the attendee to be refunded on the list. Use the search box if needed.
    3. Click the Menu icon ••• and select See details.



    4. In the Registration details window, click Refund ticket.
      ✔ You'll be prompted to confirm your choice. Click OK to continue.




    The registration will be marked as refunded on the list. The registrant will the Refund processing and email, unless it is disabled. 

  • To issue a refund in the Stripe Dashboard: 

    1. Sign in to your Stripe account.
    2. Find the payment to be refunded on the payments overview page.
    3. Click the Menu icon ••• and select Refund payment.
      Screenshot_2021-03-18_at_14.08.10.png


      (Or click on the payment to open payment settings and click Refund).

      Screenshot_2021-03-18_at_14.11.23.png


    4. In the pop-up window, complete the refund details:
      • By default, you’ll issue a full refund. For a partial refund, enter a different amount to be refunded.
      • Select a reason for the refund.
    5. Once ready, click Refund.
    Tip: To learn more about issuing refunds in Stripe, refer to Stripe Help Center

Blocking a registrant

Important notes:

  • Blocked registrants cannot access the event and register again.
  • Blocking a registrant doesn't only refund their payment. 
  • A blocked attendee will still be counted as a used registration in the Billing tab (applies to legacy plans only).

To block a registrant:

  1. Go to Event Dashboard > People > Registrants.
  2. Find the attendee to be refunded on the list. Use the search box if needed.
  3. Click the Menu icon ••• and select Block.
    ✔ You'll be prompted to confirm your choice. Click OK to continue.

The registration will be marked as blocked on the list. The registrant will get the Ticket cancellation email, unless it is disabled. 

You can unblock them in the same way.

Removing a registrant

If you both block and refund a registrant, their record will be removed from the list and they will be able to register for the event again under the same email. 

Tip: Organizers often use this option to remove test registrations or the remove registrations with a wrong email address. 

To remove a registrant:

  1. Go to Event Dashboard > People > Registrants.
  2. Find the registrant to be refunded on the list. Use the search box if needed.
  3. Refund the registrant via Event Dashboard as instructed above.
    Note: It's important to issue a refund in the Event Dashboard not your Stripe account. If the registration is free, you'll still need to issue a refund.  
  4. Block the registrant as instructed above.  

Once the registration is both refunded and blocked, it will get removed from the list. The registrant will get both Refund processing and Ticket cancellation emails, unless they are disabled.