Speed Networking FAQs

  • Updated

organizers.jpgpre-event.jpg

Check out our detailed article on Speed Networking to learn more about how it works.

Q: What is Speed Networking and how does it work?

A: The Speed Networking option can be found in the Networking (People) area of an event.

It is the place for automated one-on-one meetings and is RingCentral Events way of facilitating connection discovery at an event. In the Networking area, when someone clicks the Join now button, the system automatically pairs you up with someone else who has also clicked the Join now button. This match is paired randomly. If both parties are available, the two are matched instantly and the video chat begins and lasts for a preset amount of time set by the organisers. 

Organizers can disable the Speed Networking option in the Event Dashboard > Venue > Networking page or disable the Networking (People) area completely in the Event Dashboard > Setup > Basics settings.  

Q: How many times can an attendee be paired in networking during an event?

A: As long as you enable the Speed Networking option for your event, attendees are able to pair with other attendees as many times as possible during the event. However, the same attendees can be matched together just once. 

Q: Can I add Networking to the schedule?

Yes, you can! To be able to add Networking to your schedule you will need to first enable the People area (Setup > Basics) and then enable Speed Networking (Venue > Networking). For more info on setting up the People Area and Networking, check out this guide. 

Q: How do you network with specific people?

A: The Speed Networking feature is random, so attendees are not able to pick who you are paired with. However, attendees can create 1:1 meetings with each other. They will need to go to the 'People' tab in the right side activity panel of the event, find the person they would like to connect with and click the invite to video call button.

For more info on 1:1 meetings, check out our article.

Q: I would like to set up networking by ticket types. Is this possible?

A: Yes! While setting up Speed Networking for your event, you can program RingCentral Events to match certain ticket holders with other certain ticket holders only (e.g., “job seekers” with “Employers”). Follow Speed Networking Tutorial for detailed steps on how to do it. 

Q: How long does one Speed Networking meeting last?

A: The default duration for one meeting is 30 seconds as the minimum and 3 minutes as the maximum. However, these numbers can be changed. Organizers can customize the minimum and maximum meeting length limits while setting up the networking segment. The maximum allowed networking duration is 15 minutes. Follow Speed Networking Tutorial to learn how to change the Speed Networking meeting length. 

Q: What if I want to extend the meeting, can I do that?

A: Absolutely! Users are able to extend the meeting by clicking the Extend button. As the button is clicked, the other participant will receive a notification to confirm if they wish to extend the meeting. The extra time equals the default time of the Speed Networking set by the Organizer in the Event Dashboard > Venue > Networking tab. The meeting can be extended up to 3 times. 

Q: Are attendees able to use networking at any time during the event?

A: As long as the Speed Networking option is enabled for your event, attendees are able to access it at any time.

Q: What if I want to restrict when people network during the event? Is this possible?

A: The best way to handle this is to disable the Speed Networking feature and then re-enable it during the time you’d like your attendees to access it. You can also create a schedule with the networking segment. The schedule is then displayed on the registration and reception pages for the attendees to know what's happening per time. Also, for every scheduled segment, a 'NOW' way-finder is displayed boldly at the segment area for the attendees to know where and what's happening.

Q: Can you meet the same person twice in networking?

A: The system won't allow you to meet with the same person twice. If you'd like to meet the same person, you can search up their name through the People tab within the event and schedule a meeting.

Q: Can only the networking feature be used for an event?

A: Absolutely! You will just need to disable the other event areas in your Event Dashboard > Setup > Basics. Make sure that the People Area stays enabled and that Speed Networking is turned on in your Event Dashboard > Venue > Networking tab.

You can do this anytime before or during the event. Attendees will need to do a quick refresh if the area is enabled/disabled during the event.